Indigenous peoples are active participants in Canada’s fisheries and oceans sectors. Often, this participation involves having partners: joint ventures between communities or with industry, scientific collaborations among technical groups or with academia, and government-to-government arrangements. Some partnerships are linked to the commercial and community-based fisheries programs administered by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Others are leveraging own source revenues, Indigenous benefit agreements or other federal, provincial or territorial programs.

Indigenous partnerships in fisheries and oceans sectors are advancing reconciliation, generating employment, contributing to stronger socio-economic outcomes for Indigenous peoples, and benefitting the Canadian economy as a whole. At the same time, these partnerships are ensuring sustainable resource use that is based on Indigenous knowledge and science—and the protection of fish stocks, habitat and oceans for the benefit of future generations.

The Compendium of Indigenous Socio-economic Best Practises in Fisheries and Oceans Sectors takes an in-depth look at some of these partnerships: identifying the circumstances or events which led to their creation, the steps taken by each partner to work together, and the benefits realized as a result. The features are organized into fisheries, aquaculture, processing, oceans, habitat, science, and administrative themes. They are also representative of Indigenous communities from across Canada.

Socio-economic best practises achieve social and economic goals using unique methods that can be maintained.

We’re excited to be sharing these stories with you over March, April and May of 2021!

Les peuples autochtones participent activement aux secteurs des pêches et des océans du Canada. Souvent, cette participation implique des partenariats, c’est-à-dire des coentreprises entre les collectivités ou avec l’industrie, des collaborations scientifiques entre les groupes techniques ou avec le milieu universitaire, et des ententes de gouvernement à gouvernement. Certains partenariats sont liés aux programmes de pêche commerciale et communautaire administrés par Pêches et Océans Canada. D’autres tirent parti de leurs propres sources de revenus, d’ententes sur les avantages pour les Autochtones ou d’autres programmes fédéraux, provinciaux ou territoriaux.

Les partenariats avec les Autochtones dans les secteurs des pêches et des océans font progresser la réconciliation, créent des emplois, contribuent à de meilleurs résultats socioéconomiques pour les peuples autochtones et profitent à l’économie canadienne dans son ensemble. En même temps, ces partenariats assurent une utilisation durable des ressources fondée sur le savoir et la science autochtones, ainsi que la protection des stocks de poissons, de l’habitat et des océans au profit des générations futures.

Le Recueil des pratiques socioéconomiques autochtones exemplaires dans les secteurs des pêches et des océans examine en profondeur certains de ces partenariats en déterminant les circonstances ou les événements qui ont mené à leur création, les mesures prises par chaque partenaire pour travailler ensemble, et les avantages qui en découlent. Les rubriques sont organisées en fonction de thèmes comme la pêche, l’aquaculture, la transformation, les océans, l’habitat, les sciences et l’administration. Elles sont également représentatives des communautés autochtones de partout au Canada.

Les pratiques exemplaires socioéconomiques permettent d’atteindre des objectifs sociaux et économiques à l’aide de méthodes uniques qui peuvent être maintenues.

Nous sommes ravis de partager ces articles avec vous en mars, avril et mai 2021!