Indigenous Program Review Implementation

The views of Indigenous people, communities, businesses and organizations shaped Indigenous Program Review recommendations about how the Department needs to improve its programs and accelerate success using three approaches:

  1. taking practical steps to make the administration of programs more efficient
  2. igniting a culture change across all DFO regions and sectors by approaching program renewal through the lens of truth and reconciliation – and the long-term goal of a balanced relationship between the Government of Canada and Indigenous communities
  3. reconciling resource management by recognizing the co-management capacity of Indigenous peoples and their jurisdiction and authority over territorial resources

The Institute will be tracking the Department’s progress to respond to these recommendations.

We will also continue to be a co-delivery partner in the implementation of some of the IPR recommendations and the roll-out of the Northern Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative. For example:

As featured on indigenousoceans.ca, the Institute recently assessed the technical capacities and needs of Aboriginal aquatic resource and oceans management groups and Indigenous communities to be involved in marine spatial planning. This work is helping the Department build marine planning and conservation programs that involve Indigenous partners and help address their technical needs.

Mise en œuvre de l’Examen des programmes autochtones

Les points de vue des peuples, des collectivités, des entreprises et des organisations autochtones ont façonné les recommandations découlant de l’Examen des programmes autochtones sur la façon dont le Ministère doit améliorer ses programmes et accélérer le succès, grâce à trois approches:

  1. prendre des mesures pratiques pour rendre l’administration des programmes plus efficace
  2. attiser un changement de culture dans toutes les régions et tous les secteurs du MPO en abordant le renouvellement des programmes sous l’angle de la vérité et de la réconciliation – ainsi que de l’objectif à long terme de relation équilibrée entre le gouvernement du Canada et les collectivités autochtones
  3. concilier la gestion des ressources en reconnaissant la capacité de cogestion des peuples autochtones ainsi que leur compétence et leur autorité sur les ressources territoriales

L’Institut suivra les progrès réalisés par le Ministère pour donner suite à ces recommandations.

Nous continuerons également d’être un partenaire de la mise en œuvre conjointe de certaines des recommandations de l’EPA et de la mise en œuvre de l’Initiative des pêches commerciales intégrées du Nord. Par exemple:

Comme on peut le voir sur notre site Web oceansautochtones.ca, l’Institut a récemment évalué les capacités et les besoins techniques des groupes autochtones de gestion des ressources aquatiques et des océans et des collectivités autochtones en ce qui a trait à la participation à la planification spatiale marine. Ces travaux aident le Ministère à élaborer des programmes de planification et de conservation du milieu marin, qui associent les partenaires autochtones et répondent à leurs besoins techniques.